Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Chair in the Reduction of Social Inequalities in Health.

The RSIH Chair is housed at the Université du Québec à Montréal. Its main objective is to foster the development and outreach of population health intervention research conducted WITH people experiencing socio-economic disadvantage. Indeed, their active participation is a key element in reducing social inequalities in health.

Decades of research have identified two factors that can reduce the negative impact of a weak social position on health: control over one’s life (power to act) and social capital. By entering the emerging field of population health intervention research, the Chair intends to contribute to the modification of these two factors at the population level through the development and evaluation of interventions specifically targeting residential environments and front-line services.

The RISS Chair is rooted in a position of co-producing knowledge by crossing knowledge between its intersectoral partners, its interdisciplinary researchers and people directly affected by inequalities.

Bienvenue!

Bienvenue sur le site de la Chaire de recherche sur la réduction des inégalités sociales de santé.

La Chaire RISS est hébergée à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Son objectif principal est de favoriser le développement et le rayonnement de la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations menée AVEC les personnes en situation de défavorisation socioéconomique. En effet, leur participation active est un élément clef dans la réduction des inégalités sociales de santé.

Des décennies de recherche ont identifié deux facteurs pouvant diminuer l’impact négatif d’une faible position sociale sur la santé : le contrôle sur sa vie (pouvoir d’agir) et le capital social. En s’inscrivant dans le champ émergent de la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations, la Chaire entend contribuer à la modification de ces deux facteurs à l’échelle populationnelle par le développement et l’évaluation d’interventions ciblant plus particulièrement les environnements résidentiels et les services de première ligne.

La Chaire RISS s’ancre dans une posture de coproduction des connaissances par le croisement des savoirs entre ses partenaires intersectoriels, ses chercheurEs interdisciplinaires et des personnes directement affectées par les inégalités.